MoP Beta – Floating Pink Shards!?

Posted: April 27, 2012 in Beta Testing Warlocks

Hail and Howdy O’Keeper’s of the Floating Pink Shards? WTF?

OMG before I jump into the fuss over affliction let me apologize for this small rant in advance. For some odd reason, this next topic has gotten me pretty fired up. I can’t believe something as simple as a new graphic in WoW can get me so angry.  Yes, I know it’s dumb of me to feel this way but just let me rant and rage one post about Floating Pink Shards then I’ll get over it.  Or I’ll at least try to get over it. Ever since I’ve seen the Floating Pink Shards on my warlock I’ve had this poem running in my mind whenever I login to Beta:

 I do not like the floating pink shards on my head. I do not like them in a box, with a fox or on other locks.  I do not like floating pink shards above my head. I do not like them on my undead. I do not like them with a glyph, green or pink they have me pissed! I do not like them with green eggs or ham, I do not like them Mister-Blizzard-Developer-Man!  Really, I don’t. 

Some love them...I passionately do not!

If you haven’t heard, Affliction warlocks are getting a new character graphic.  Our soul shards now float above our head and there is now even a new a glyph where you can change the look into green floating balls / circles / ugliness / tacky / horrendous.  Pick your word of choice.  Over at Fel Concentration, Poneria had a quick write-up on it when the new glyph hit. 

Well if you looked at Poneria’s website or at my sad, sad panda pic next to this paragraph and are still wondering what-in-the-heck their purpose is, then here is the lowdown on our new floating pink shards.  The floating soul shards represent how many shards you have available.  Let me say that again for great effect. The floating soul shards represent how many shards you have available.  When you burn a shard for such spells as Haunt or to empower a utility spell one of the pink fluffy balls disappears.  So burn three shards in a row and the graphic disappears. If you cast DRAIN SOUL to get your shards back with each shard regen tick they will reappear above your head one by one.  Let me say that again for greater effect. If you cast DRAIN SOUL to get your shards back with each shard regen tick they will reappear above your head one by one. If my repeating of a couple of those sentences were obnoxious I’m sorry.  I’ll explain in just a sec why I think it’s important.

Now the reasons for this change isn’t completely well know other than theories.  One theory is that Blizzard is removing the three shard graphic from our character portraits making it easier to see our shard availability.  I’m not sure if this is true but I can tell you that currently in Beta the shards in our character portraits are no longer there. They are gone.  Whether their removal is the design or a possible programming bug we still don’t know.  Another theory is that since Afflocks may be doing some spell twisting and that this may be an easy way for a player to recognize that they have gained or lost a shard.  My personal opion is that the designers over at Blizz received too much hate mail from mages that Warlocks always look better, cooler, more menacing or as having a better “memorable presence” and that this is to bring us down to their level.  

Now, I know some ‘locks love this look and are fighting to keep it when MoP goes live but personally, I would like to see removed or at least give us the option to turn it off.  Yes, I’ve read the forums about the Blood Mages in the WoW lore and how there were descriptions of these things being used for more power spells and for channeling and harvesting demonic energies.  Omg, people were even arguing if a Blood Mage was a mage or a warlock. So here is my simple request and take on the whole matter. If some players would like either the pink cotton candy or the green balls to appear floating around then please let people glyph for it.  Let the pro-floaty-pink-cotton-ball players take that choice and leave the majority who do not like them alone and please do not force players who do not like it to give up a minor glyph just to get rid of it.  It’s the people who want them that should waste a minor glyph for it and if they like they can call themselves a Blood Mage all they want just leave my warlock alone! Some have called them our new Spriest Shadow Orbs, some have compared them to a Shaman’s shield graphic. Au contraire, mon’ frere – I call them just plain ugly and detracting. At least IMHO Spriest orbs and Shaman shield graphics seem to enhance their appearance but these pink floating shards don’t.  

 Let me explain why I do not like them. 

1. I spent a huge amount of time searching, grinding and purchasing cool Tmog gear and they completely interfere and detract from it. That’s IMHO.

2. It’s annoying because different helmets, shoulders and weapons look horrible with them. Sometimes the Tmog clothes leave them partial, covering only 1/4 to 1/2 of them.  Some poke out from underneath items when you move. Longer weapons such as swords and staves can cover or obstruct your view of them so once again it looks all Fubar.

3. If you take the glyph to have 4 shards, you still only get three on the graphic.

4. Some say they are purple but they sure as heck look pink to me and how can you strike fear in others with pink things above your head.  It’s bad enough that our Shavarra Demon casts a giant rainbow when she CC’s a mob for us. Whenever I have her cast the rainbow CC graphic I keep looking for either a leprechaun to appear, thousands of candy Skittles to start raining down or for the My Pretty Pony song to play. We’re Warlocks!  Dark, demonic, scary, threatening.  Not PINK and POOFY! That is for mages!

5. I do not PvP as much as I used to but if we ran any BG could we think of a better way to alert our enemies that we’re out of our most primary and most powerful resource? This is why I repeated the lines, “The floating soul shards represent how many shards you have available and if you cast DRAIN SOUL to get your shards back with each shard regen tick they will reappear above your head one by one. 

6. We can’t get green fire added even though we have a green Fel Flame spell, which looks a heck of a lot like green flame to me (So did the Chaos Bolt spell) but instead we get these pink frosting cotton ball looking things?  Puuuuhhhhlllleeeease!

Whew, okay I’m done with the rant but I would like to close you with these final thoughts on the Floating Pink Shards…

I do not like the floating pink shards on my head, I do not like them in a box, with a fox or on other locks.  I do not like floating pink shards above my head. I do not like them on my undead. I do not like them with a glyph, green or pink they have me pissed! I do not like them with green eggs or ham, I do not like them Mister-Blizzard-Developer-Man!  Really, I don’t.

Thanks for letting me rant and love me or hate me, thanks for reading!

My Best…

Comments
  1. Brendan says:

    I found this when I used Google to figure out how to turn them off. I hate them to. Any progress? And I liked your rant.

    • Hi Brendan,

      Sadly, you can’t completely turn them off. The only choices we have are:
      1. Leave them on and tell people they are cool “in” style – Not!
      2. Use the Glyph of Subtlety to turn them off while you’re not in combat
      3. Use the Glyph of Verdant Spheres to turn them into big green balls

      I’m glad you liked the rant :) I really do hate to complain because there’s so much about the game I love. Floating pink shards seems like a small thing to rant about, but why…Oh why, didn’t Blizzard put those ugly things on a mage? What I wouldn’t pay to get a Glyph of Pink Shard Removal! Bah!

Leave a Reply

